Travelling to Nethy Bridge - Reisverslag uit Nethy Bridge, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Joël Bakker - WaarBenJij.nu Travelling to Nethy Bridge - Reisverslag uit Nethy Bridge, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Joël Bakker - WaarBenJij.nu

Travelling to Nethy Bridge

Door: Joël Bakker

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Joël

05 September 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Nethy Bridge

My apoligies that this is posted here now, but I mixed it up somehow.

After I got up at the wonderful hour of six, I stumbled downstairs and pretended to be fully awake. I didn't yet completely feel as though I was about to leave for a long time, but I was sure that this was yet to come.

I was accompanied to Schiphol by my loving parents and my wonderful girlfriend Lisette. We arrived just before 07.00 and we casually made our way to luggage and customs. At this moment I was starting to get slightly anxhious and realisation started to kick in that I really was about to embark on a long journey and would be away for a long time.

Before I went through customs, we decided it would be nice we could have a quick coffee before I left. This gave me the oppertunity to relax a little.
But quicker than I would have hoped for, the time for me to leave had arrived. I said my goodbyes to my parents and girlfriend and finally had to leave them. Next I got through customs and headed for the 10.00 flight to Edinburgh

The flight was quicker than scheduled and I landed at 10.15 at Edingburgh Airport. I quickly got through customs and was soon able to collect my suitcase. Since I didn't have anything else to do, I made my way to the bus that would take me to the Waverly Station in the centre of Edinburgh.

As I got on the bus, I quickly found a spot, next to another gentleman. This quickly turned out to be a small mistake because I noticed that Anthony, as he introduced himself to me, was a bit special.. Special Anthony, as I've come to remember him,has enthousiasticly told me all about the Edinburgh Zoo he desperately wanted and planned to visit, until his caretaker intervened and was able to provide me with a little bit more practical advice on where to go.

As we arrived at the city centre, I therefore knew exactly where I needed to go and soon arrived at a busy and crowded station.
As it turned out the train to Aviemore wasn't destined to arrive for at least another hour and a half, which gave me the perfect oppertunity to finally get some lunch.

However, getting on the train would prove to be another issue. As scheduled the train appeared on the information screens as it should, but there was not yet any information on which platform it would arrive and embark. Even when I asked any railway employees about this, all I would get was 'that we didn't yet know, but it would appear on the screens so I wouldn't need to get anxhious. This would continue until about three minutes before the train was scheduled to leave the station.

After a short sprint with what can only be described as the heaviest object know to man, in other words my suitcase, I had finally gotten on my train and could shortly hyperventilate before I had to find my seat.
This would prove to be my next challenge, since apperently the British Railways work with a system where you do not simply get a ticket for the train, you seemingly book a specific seat on that train.
For some reason, of which I'm still uncertain, my ticket didn't have any information about where I was to sit. Even with the help of a few helpful fellow travellers, we weren't abnle to figure out where I was to sit. In the end I decided to simply sit down on a seat that hadn't yet been taken.
This worked out perfectly until the very next station where someone got in and had reserved that specific seat, so I was forced to find another place to sit.
This little game of changing seats would take place at nearly every station that we encountered.

The upside to this all was that my constant moving about provided me with a variety of perspectives to see the landscape, which allowed me to make some amazing pictures.

As we (finally) arrived at Aviemore, I was greeted by David, the owner of the camping where I would be staying, and Barbara, another summer helper who was just about to leave. After David said his goodbyes to Barbara, I was led to David's car, where I could load in my luggage and take place where the steering wheel normally would be. A very suprisign fact when you're tired already and not paying close attention.

After a 20 minute drive, we finally arrived at The Lazy Duck, which would be my home for the next two months. I was immediately greeted by a massive amount of greenery all around and a number of sheep en hens in the field next to me. Here I was greeted by Valery, David's wife and co-owner of The Lazy Duck, and Torstin, another summer helper from Germany.
After a brief tour around the hostel and campsite, David showed me my new home: a small caravan, where we were all very curious to see if I would fit comfertably in there. Luckily this proved to be the case and I was allowed to unpack.
When I'd finished unpacking, I was invited to supper by David and Valery where they gave me a small welcome gift, consisting of a number of groceries to get me started. After the meal I politely thanked them for the lovely meal and made my way to my new home and immediately got into bed, where I promptly fell asleep.

  • 12 September 2014 - 18:01

    Joke:

    Goed verhaal.

  • 12 September 2014 - 20:14

    Leida:

    He man is het te coen in dat verre schotland hoop van wel geniet een beetje oke xxx

  • 14 September 2014 - 17:05

    Joke:

    Ben benieuwd naar de volgende verhalen

  • 15 September 2014 - 09:58

    Lisette:

    Hee mop, leuke foto's zeg! Echt een prachtig land zo te zien :) Kan niet wachten tot oktober, dan kan ik het met mijn eigen ogen zien! xx

  • 15 September 2014 - 18:52

    Eric:

    Hey Joël

    Riant zomerhuisje zeg!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Joël

I'm spending two months in Scotland as an internship to improve my fluency and cultural knowledge amonst other things. I've found a place to work and stay at a small hostel/b&b/campsite called The Lazy Duck, in the small village of Nethy Bridge in Scotland.

Actief sinds 31 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 104
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3690

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Augustus 2014 - 07 November 2014

My stay abroad in Nethy Bridge

Landen bezocht: